Update

Today, I am sitting at the hospital with my youngest daughter, waiting on my youngest son’s surgery to be finished. I thought that while she is absorbed in Teen Titans Go! would be the perfect time to update anyone following our story.

My ex and I had court on June 16. He plead guilty to assault on a female, and his charge for assault in front of children was dropped. He was released from jail with 2 years of supervised probation, with seeing his psychiatrist and completing a drug and alcohol rehabilitation program as conditions of his probation.

I have to say, I am glad I went to court. Telling our story again, in front of a judge, was one of the hardest things I’ve done. And, as strange as it may sound, I am so very proud of my ex. He entered a treatment program yesterday, but until he did, he talked to our kids EVERY NIGHT on the phone. He has been in a drug rehab class while in jail and is setting goals and staying focused. Many people think it’s strange for me to say that I am so proud of him, but the way I see it, even though we aren’t together, we will still be part of each other’s lives. He will always be my children’s father and nothing will change that. So, even though it took such an enormous event for him to see it, he realizes now that he needs help and is focusing on getting it so he can be the father that he needs to be. And for that, I will always be proud of him.

Remember our family as we continue through this journey. No one ever said it was easy, they just said it was worth it. And the happiness of these beautiful babies will always be worth it!

Leave a Reply

